Day 6 - Reisverslag uit Slough, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Noa Brink - WaarBenJij.nu Day 6 - Reisverslag uit Slough, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Noa Brink - WaarBenJij.nu

Day 6

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Noa

30 April 2015 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Slough

Today I went trough the recruitment procedure with Sam. At Vanderlande they try to recruit as many people as possible internally. That is of course way handier than doing it externally because you already know the person. And further on they recruit just like any other company would do with interviews and a personality test. Then I had to go on the internal Vanderlande website. On there you can find information about everyone who works at Vanderlande and what Vanderlande does. This is really handy if you are new to Vanderlande and you start working there. After that I had to put files into the maps of people that don’t work at Vanderlande anymore.
After lunch I worked with the simulation team. I was first shown a clip about T5, so I would understand the simulation better. The simulations are basically to answer the questions that start with what if about the system. What if there is a lot of baggage coming in from just one check in? What if a part of the system stops working? The simulation can show what would happen. This is really good because you can really show the client something concrete. It’s also good that you can test with the simulation in order to prevent real life problems. The simulation is of course very neat and in it doesn’t occur that a bag gets stuck in the system, which in real life can actually happen. The simulation is first drawn with a program and then can be brought into action with code. I was first shown a simple simulation with which I could change the variables such as the number of bags, how many go trough third level scanning and whether a scanner is defect. It was impossible to crash the system with the variables that I could choose from, so if the airport keeps it to variables like those the system won’t have any serious problems. After the simpler simulation I was shown the simulation of T5. It was really cool to see this simulation because what I had seen of the system in T5 made more sense now, because I could now see the whole system. I still remembered all the things from the tour trough T5 and I think I now finally understand the whole system. It is pretty interesting an clever how they have thought of such a system. The intranet I used earlier today also showed that Vanderlande has a few patents on conveyers and other inventions. I think working at the simulation team was really cool because you get to sort of make thinks like in a rollercoaster tycoon, but then for your work. It’s of course a lot more complex and you have to code everything yourself. But it’s really awesome.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Verenigd Koninkrijk, Slough

EIO London

EIO at Vanderlande industries in Heathrow.

Recente Reisverslagen:

04 Mei 2015

Day 9

03 Mei 2015

Day 8

02 Mei 2015

Day 7

30 April 2015

Day 6

30 April 2015

Day 5
Noa

Actief sinds 06 April 2015
Verslag gelezen: 195
Totaal aantal bezoekers 3694

Voorgaande reizen:

25 April 2015 - 03 Mei 2015

EIO London

Landen bezocht: